Israel

It is because I recognize the brutality with which my own multi-branched ancestors have been treated that I can identify the despicable, lawless, cruel, and sadistic behavior that has characterized Israel’s attempts to erase a people, the Palestinians, from their own land.
~ Alice Walker

75

In the beginning of the last autumn
i brought from a thousand black eyes
the prize of war, that is mercy

there is no lesson here, only
an alluring figure, death and migration
I watched the shelters get bombed
And I thought I’m too old a sculptor

to know how to sculpt dead
corpses of children, to see
how they lay motionless in

bright pools of blood
how can there be cease-fires
when civilians must beg for peace
while western masters give them arms

in the beginning of the end of frozen summer
from every woman I borrowed
a supple curve, not for pregnant wishes

but for tears of the world
i created you from the marble of my poem
but I could not contain your wasted lives
so long as men think they are superior

to other men, they will fight to the death
snubbing their own God with their cruelty
beware! The wrath of the earth

will not tolerate this forever, maybe for
a few more decades, but judgement
will it be allowed to echo in your quietness?
You who have taken the bodies

You who have committed the war-crimes
You whose mouth is cold with death?

10 thoughts on “Israel

  1. I am sad to read this blog. My youngest brother injured last week. The announced 72-hour humanitarian cease-fire between Israel and Hamas didn’t even last two hours, by some accounts. I pray this will come to an end.

  2. I really like and admire your writing skills and this piece is no exception. I have got to tell you though, that even before the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich Germany, that my generation saw played out on TV where 11 Israeli athletes and one German Police officer was killed by a group called “Black September”‘ I had come to associate murder,and terrorists’ plot with Islam. Then of course Palestine and Yasser Arrafat, the Egyptian assationation of President Anwar Sadat and the Israeli President soon after by Muslim terrorists, and recently here broken serial UN cease fire agreement by Hamas. I saw Beheadings of Hostages on TV and heard Muslims bragging about it and saw Muslims the day after 9/11 visiting our next door office professional, Dr.Setlur in what I can only describe as a festive mood. One of my beach buddies is Armenian who grew up in Palestine,his Dad was a Taxi cab owner and chauffeur. They migrated to Chicago and he has been a happy succesful businessman and citizen of the USA. My attitude today is,’let them kill each other’ until the strongest wins as is the rule in the Animal kingdom. My problem is where do I go when the Muslims rise up in America, as they predict they are coming for us. William Shakespeare:
    “Judgement has fled to brutish beasts and men have lost their reason”

  3. Whoa!! Best one yet!! The images bring the reality of war, the blood and guts as well as the emotional price, to the reader! Having lived in a war torn country and knowing how it affects a whole society, I felt tears as I was reading. I also like the treatment you gave to the western world’s cold hearted detachment from these things.

  4. You did very well in addressing the horror of what is called “war.” And there are never any winners. But sometimes people must acknowledge when others are living in a state of slavery – as Alice said. And I agree with you, mother earth will wreck a justice that man cannot.

Leave a Reply

