The ones worth suffering for

“Friendship is born at that moment when one man says to another: “What! You too? I thought that no one but myself . . .””
― C.S. Lewis

Photo Courtesy: http://www.deviantart.com/art/A-friendship-tale-116384835

3

i

It’s a long time since I haven’t
heard from you, old friend
though you like to live in my mind
and in those moments I imagine
you are thinking of me too

our time and place is gone
to erect for ourselves a lovers’
monument deep in the recess of our soul

ii

We give each slice to another man
another woman, but the truth is
few captivate our ideals, have values
in the likeness of our own
once we talked about who we would

be, and to speak about changes
was to speak about love,
the love we shared for our future

iii

When you wept because we had to part
did you know there was another
unlike me waiting for you?
It’s a long time since I haven’t
heard from you, I did not receive

even a little piece of paper
It’s not a lack of love
but a lack of friendship
which makes the missing stronger.

8 thoughts on “The ones worth suffering for

  1. Oh Wuji – that was so beautiful, but the last line truly got to me, as I’m in the midst of giving up a lover, who is also an incredibly dear friend – and it will be the lack friendship that makes the missing stronger.

  2. Nostalgia always makes me feel kinda melancholy, but in a good way! You know letting go of old feelings! Beautiful poem!!

  3. I agree.
    “even a little piece of paper
    It’s not a lack of love
    but a lack of friendship
    which makes the missing stronger.”
    Losing a friend is someone we will miss. Thank you for sharing the excellent poetry.

Leave a Reply

