Each Slice of your Life had Another Man on it

5

It’s a long time since I
Have heard from you
And today, I miss you
For no particular reason
Perhaps only a reminder to myself

That I am easily attached to
The idea of intimacy
But my name is forgotten

As my existence will be
Once I am gone, the generations
March on in their crude selfishness
I will not take more lovers
I will not have another mother or father

There will be fewer monuments
To make the years, the passing
Once we talked about changes

And you spoke to me of your future
And while I long for your happiness
I know the kind of inner state
Which you habituate and generalize
You’re not the kind of person

To miss others so easily
So in my forgotten nostalgia
I do not give myself permission
To think of you too often.

6

Photo Courtesy:

1. http://www.deviantart.com/art/Ophelia-389897495
2. http://www.deviantart.com/art/Ophelia-43622806

5 thoughts on “Each Slice of your Life had Another Man on it

Leave a Reply

