Self-Portrait of a Poet

18

I wish I was twenty and in love with life
And still wanted to change
To change the world
Inwards, old brain!

Who has the heart of a universe
There is no adversity
Only the opportunities
Given by evolution

Roses and blooming
For those who see God
In created things
I wish I was twenty and

So ready to make a self-portrait
That had dreams beyond ambition
And still wanted to love
The goodness of this world

Onwards, fantastic spirit!
We have lives for this yet
And hours, and days, and years.

16 thoughts on “Self-Portrait of a Poet

  1. By the time I was 20 I had been on my own for 8 years and already felt like an old man. Wait until you’re 50 and you realize that that “fantastic spirit” is just getting his feet under him. Barring the unexpected, you’ve still got a lot of glorious life to live. Enjoy it, because only you can live the one that has your name on it. Read you later.

Leave a Reply

