Messiah Complex

31

 

 

The world doesn’t need another martyr

Jesus, warm blood on my arm

Warm as a golden bird trapped

In a cage, does it feel like a dove or a hummingbird?

 

This life we sweat and work for

This chaos born of human ignorance

What is the price to bring

A brighter shine of love into this world?

 

Tell me, I’m growing old alone

This world doesn’t need

Another poet, Jesus, tell me

Sweet voice in my mind

 

O send a raven ahead of the dove

The ballads no longer sound

I’ve been chained in a cave

Let’s call it the marketplace

 

Where I barter my soul every hour

For a bit of peace and waiting for

The green branch of love

For a spring that never arrives.

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Messiah Complex

Leave a Reply

