Ingredients for a Species to Survive

Screen Shot 04-03-15 at 10.34 AM

Ingredients for a Species to Survive

No, I am not happy for its own sake
I’m happy to be generous to the people in my life

Who I care about, who took the time
To nurture me even when I was being difficult

They cheer for my little victories
For they know my tenderness is waning

Like the white moon, turned to blood orange
I’m happy because the sun is out

I always forget what I am meant to say
Except that I’m a poet and I speak

On matters common to the days
The days that spell an end to gold

The days that cannot remember their history
Siblings, or if they should endure

Nights biting at their tails, wagging, lovely
The stars still know their place, distant, aloof

Austere, I am happy because the ocean
Still cares about the continents, even if we

Have changed her, have taunted her bad
No, I’m happy for humanity still has a chance

That we are not extinct yet, show no huge weakness
Only the ignorance of profit, short-term profit
That has no bearing on galactic reality.

Leave a Reply

