Sleep would be nice….

Screen Shot 04-05-15 at 11.07 PMScreen Shot 04-05-15 at 11.06 PMScreen Shot 04-05-15 at 11.08 PM

Sleepless in Montreal

Midway upon the journey
Of our lives, I found that
I could fall in love with a poetess
With the mere sight of her words

Korean-American Sappho
Though in great times of self-doubt
I must recall that words befriended me
In an empathy human beings

Declined, I made my way
To emotions and experiences
That felt the universe, thus I too
Because a minor poet, full

Of the surprise with the way of life
That agreed with me, rather
Like divinity on the shelf
Always within reach

The sound of a new poem
In my mouth being born
It was the ode to spiritual hunger
I never knew, the thrill of always

Finding something around the corner
The delight to echo the sleep
Of sad years that broke free
Your cheeks of Seattle still crisp

Like the aroma of apples
I cannot reach, that’s the breeze
Whispering of your foreign name
I am sick in my own, that I require

To translate you into a muse
Squeeze you dry with poetic embraces
That can only find new sentences
For the fragrance of your need.

3 thoughts on “Sleep would be nice….

  1. Lovely piece!
    “To translate you into a muse
    Squeeze you dry with poetic embraces” That line speaks to me in particular as a writer who mostly draws inspiration from specific people I meet and talk to. It does sometimes feel like literally squeezing things out of their character and onto the page!

Leave a Reply

