The Poetry we Brought With Us #amwriting #AppreciateAnAuthor #wordsmatter #blog

47


The Poetry we Brought With Us

I’ve found evidence of life
In poems, the dash of dictionary
Spirit’s metamorphosis
Ink stains on my smile
What gets lost in translation

Is a lot, the silence and the person
The Imaginary gardens
The collected experiences of the individual
We were poets even in prose
Even on our break, in steadfast definition

Of being possessed by beauty
Of being distorted by gratitude
Our identities were vital truths
To history, that’s how intimately
We related to words, we made rhetoric

Out of the quarrel with ourselves
We founded our own kind of poetry
It was, the liberation of the senses
Divinity’s distinction of image and soul
It was a Plato tattoo on the back of our hand

Always ready, immediately syllabled
We kept invisible keepsakes of our tribe
Like misprint of reincarnations forgotten
We felt the summer skies in books
And heaven’s lies in paragraphs

We became prophets of philosophy kidnapped
And activists against ugliness
The secret suffering was ours
We found beautiful music even in
The most tormented of societies

And we envisioned the future
Wed to the joys of the past
I’ve found evidence of life in nature
And an unknown author
With appropriate ghosts

Exploring my own amazement
I felt the symmetry of poetry
As precise as astronomy
Portraits of revelation lost
In Haikus to the infinite

Maybe we all carry the soul
Of a poet who died young inside of us.

9 thoughts on “ The Poetry we Brought With Us #amwriting #AppreciateAnAuthor #wordsmatter #blog

  1. Your poetry has made what was precious and is precious to me(my poetry) feel aged,historical and tired.Thats because I am each of those things.Reading every one of your poems gives off a freshness,a lightness to heavy themes and makes me want to put the old away on some shelf and begin again,maybe write a little like you.I just love your poetry.Lewis

    • Lewis you make me very happy to read such a heartfelt testimonial to my craft, the more I write the more I feel a sense of celebration in the doing of the art. By all means, I’m sure every soul can find more poems in themselves, and for me I’m constantly being inspired by others so I know share this sentiment.

Leave a Reply

