Reconnaissance

Screen Shot 05-09-15 at 10.21 AM

Reconnaissance

The only way I could
Make love to you was through poetry
Everything else was forbidden
We were spirits in transit

At the ends of nostalgia
Ready to be idealistic again
And yet one arrives somehow
For dance lessons, a psychological encounter

In the strange bedroom
Of intimate dialogue
And it occurred to me
I’d never know you completely

I’d project and I’d compensate
And I’d only reach a part of you
That was, how it was with language
All these approximations

Emotions that go three ways
Timing that is rarely serendipitous
So I followed your lead
Not knowing the name of the bud

Where I would hold your flower
In its sweet smell of soulful freedom
And let nature suck me in
To her passionate eternity.

5 thoughts on “Reconnaissance

Leave a Reply

