Simply beautiful

Screen Shot 05-30-15 at 06.27 PM

Simply beautiful

How often have you told me
Sweetheart, that honesty is the
Highest form of intimacy
But I’ll tell you the story
Of how the sun loved the moon so much

Because she represented the night
And his opposite and because
She died every night to
Let him breathe, honesty is then
Also the attraction of difference

My desires are honestly different
To your own, so don’t think
I don’t respect you if
I pursue what I desire in this world
To offer up my mortality to the Gods

Or to get praise from this transient audience
Doing what we love is its own reward
We are not all made to have children
Or find stability in this lonely world
To me, simplicity has always been

The last sophistication and
The one I could afford
So living imperfectly
I found my perfect expression
Of myself – to do what I love meant

I would exist so at least
My inner beauty began the
Moment I decided to truly be myself.

20 thoughts on “Simply beautiful

  1. Reblogged this on Poetry and Idealism and commented:
    Simply beautiful indeed! “…honesty, the highest form of intimacy.” How true. He that knoweth my soul is he that knoweth my love… how deep does it run? Only he would know.

  2. Oh my goodness … If anyone that speaks of love, then it could be you. There are many forms of love and how one can interpret it accordingly to your own understanding and experience.

    “But I’ll tell you the story
    Of how the sun loved the moon so much

    Because she represented the night
    And his opposite and because
    She died every night to
    Let him breathe, honesty is then
    Also the attraction of difference …”

    A sort of explaining what love really is and what one meant for each other … 🙂

  3. I know what the moon and sun do. But you have used them as a metaphor for something else….and it speaks for a certain attitude of a male toward a female…not good at all, since you say one must DIE so the other may breathe….

    • That’s your interpretation, if you knew the body of my work you’d realize this wasn’t actually the case. But anyway, you’re entitled to your opinion.

    • Besides this poem has nothing to do with romantic love or even gender! But rather the quest for authenticity. I’m not sure what patriarchal rubbish you lived through, but I assure you that my generation will pay for less homage to old models of gender, power dynamics or an unequal distribution of opportunity.

Leave a Reply

