In Times of Trouble

Screen Shot 08-25-15 at 01.24 PM

I know what my heart is like
It’s everything and everyone
Dying inward for a bit of belonging

Hoping to touch a bit of life
For the sake of being reborn in identity
In sharing experience and tenderness
Was it for this I once uttered prayers?
That I should retire alone the years?

Bear me a crown of golden foreverafters
Love is the gold gown I’ve worn
In good times and the bad

If I grow a bit bitterly on life’s low shrub
Do not say I knew not flowers or
That I did not give everything
To the ones who truly mattered
Spring on horseback, Autumn on these lips

I knew and loved all that I could
My thin fingers lifting bright threads
Of music from the clouds

I know what my heart is like
Eun Ji, don’t you? I won’t sit smiling
But I’ll listen with Dandelions
And some brief word from you.

6 thoughts on “In Times of Trouble

  1. “If i grow a bit bitterly on life’s low shrub. Do not say i knew not flowers” what a powerful line. To me it conjures an idea of a life not yet lived, but one that has had an attempt at it. A poem spoke in the voice of a person who has tried their best,yet has struggled, and perhaps failed in their goals. But despite it all, lived a life nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

