Extinction Moment

Screen Shot 08-30-15 at 10.10 PM

This soul does stand half ajar
For this world of greed and troubling hours
I have to remark on all the beauty
That stands so close to death

In the materialism of this place
Before machines are born
And remake you into an everlasting race
Enjoy mortality, while you are alone

Lording over nature, poisoning oceans
Depart, before the sun languishes
Over meteors, before you are replaced
In extinction’s calm embrace

Nothing is ordained but time’s lack
Of ambivalence, each thing in
Its rightful place, prone to embark
Upon evolution’s touch and hand

Where immortality is a long next
Of the tribes that once sung
And now are mere skeletons and fossils
In another time and place.

13 thoughts on “Extinction Moment

      • I remember well how traumatic that was. Now I’m almost as old as my father was when he died. I don’t fear death. I only hope I can meet death with the equanimity my father did. 🙂

        Ron

Leave a Reply

