And Marry Whom or What I May

116

Here stands miscellaneous enterprise
Whatever design my maker might
Prophesize, I shall do

Flowers & Suns understand
Hope is the thing with features
That allows us to fly
Choice the banter of the soul
At the brink of an anomaly

Society is made to control you
The cities keep you in slavery
And love, she binds you good

In her traditions, customs, rites
Another nuclear family, just what
The world needs, here stands a lifetime
Our natural portion of defeat
The pale luck of our suffering

Men too straight might stoop again
Women too generous, might
Welcome martyhood, what choice

Does an altruist have in a corrupt world?
Whatever design my maker made
I will fill my stars on earth in full
Taught waiting with myself until
The appointment with eternity

Has lost its meaning, I am afraid
Every moment is an eternal altitude
And Fate, means neither good or evil

There is a science to reality
“It is what it is”, they softly whisper
Never mind my breathless anvil!
Never mind repose, there exists no such thing
All is labour and tugging and forge

Until the years rivet faster still
To quiet your lungs of all this breathing
To still the beating heart, that doesn’t
Know how to stop.

117

Photo Courtesy:

1. http://www.deviantart.com/art/SAYS-486144944

2. http://www.deviantart.com/art/Hello-October-485904015

3 thoughts on “And Marry Whom or What I May

      • I’ve been sick with typhoid for a while now. The university food is just not reliable. Been composing a lot of poetry though I posted a flash fiction today after a long while. (:

Leave a Reply

