Ode to Derozio

41

Last night, it was a lovely night
Very blest beneath the Moon
Shall it not be for memory
A happy flower to bloom

Yes not in our distant backward past
I felt the soft hours on my cheek
Hours which rode the distances still
And shined on, mildly but not burned

O’ how sweet is yesternight
Though only for its light dreams
That mist of who we once were
For all becomes a universal law

So let my mind touch yours
On its way returning home
I’ll meet you by the gates dear friend
Come who will walk with me

A little way’, I said and lo!
I straight was joined by the
Soul of thee, in purest ray, not blind.

One thought on “Ode to Derozio

Leave a Reply

